Sign Up

Help - Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) Recertification Requirements

Return to Help Center

Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) Recertification Requirements

Last Updated: Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Created On: Sunday, December 15, 2019

Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) Recertification Requirements

Please Note: The following information is provided for those CMAs that obtain credentials from the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA). If information is needed in regards to renewing through a different organization, CMAs are responsible for contacting the necessary organization that maintains their certification.

For certification renewal, CMAs must meet the guidelines provided below based on their current status.

Active Certification Status – Required to obtain 60 recertification points for renewal. At least 30 points must come from an approved AAMA provider*. A minimum of 10 points must come from each of the following 3 categories:


  • Administrative
  • Clinical
  • General

The remaining 30 points may come from any combination within these categories.

Save any related documentation, such as a course outline, to include when you submit the Recertification by Continuing Education Application. The AAMA will not update your transcript when you attend non-AAMA approved programs and events.

Expired Certification Status – May reactivate the credential by recertifying through examination or continuing education.

Certification Expired 60+ Months – Forfeits the right to reactivate the credential by continuing education and must sit for the CMA (AAMA) Certification/Recertification Examination.

Certification point conversion:

1 point = 1 contact hour

For additional information regarding recertification for the CMA, please visit the American Association of Medical Assistants continuing education page here.

*CEUFast, Inc is not an approved AAMA provider. is able to provide 30 of the 60 required points in the aforementioned categories.


Contact Us

Email Us for assistance