Sign Up
Oregon

Oregon Continuing Education Requirements

Select your profession.

Below are details about continuing education and license renewal in Oregon. You can skip to your profession by selecting it from the drop down list above.

Oregon Registered Nurse (RN)

2 Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
(2 + 1) Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Friday, February 2, 2024

1. RN license renewal is dependent on meeting one of the following requirements:

(a) 400 hours of nursing practice, at the level of license sought, within the two years immediately preceding renewal application. Applicants initially licensed prior to January 1, 2021, must attest to having 400 hours of practice in the previous two years by their second renewal cycle after implementation of these rules. Prior to this second renewal, the applicant may use the previously required competency hours of 960 in 5 years; or

(b) Graduation from the Board-approved Oregon, or out of state school of nursing, or international nursing program that qualified the licensee for this type of license within the two years immediately preceding renewal application; or

(c) Completing a re-entry program meeting the requirements of OAR 851-021-0080; or OAR 851-031-0065 within the two years immediately preceding application for licensure renewal.

2. Applicants who cannot attest to 400 hours of practice in the past two years preceding application for renewal must:
(a) Have at least 600 hours of practice in the last three years. The applicant must submit documentation of 20 hours of continuing education related to their area of nursing practice; employer - required continuing education does not qualify; or

(b) Have at least 800 hours of practice in the last four years. The applicant must submit documentation of 30 hours of continuing education related to their area of practice; employer- required continuing education does not qualify.

(c) If the applicant is unable to qualify by any other option listed and has some practice but less than 960 hours of practice in the last five years, the applicant must apply for practice re-entry per OAR 851-031-0061.
Special Requirements
Oregon law requires all licensed nurses and other health professionals to receive one hour of pain management continuing education upon initial licensure and at every renewal thereafter.  This one (1) hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module. 

All healthcare providers are mandated to complete two (2) hours of cultural competence.

The remaining hours can be of your choice, from CE courses that are accredited by an established accrediting body (such as another state board of nursing or national organization) for continuing nursing education.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required RN CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, OR  97224-7012

Oregon Medication Aide

Oregon Requires
8 Hours
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Oregon requires
8 hours
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, February 2, 2024
  • Work and be paid for at least 400 hours (approximately three months, full-time) of CNA duties in the two years immediately preceding the certificate expiration date. Volunteer work does not count for renewal. Caring for a family member counts for renewal only when it is paid employment.
  • Perform authorized duties as listed in the OSBN's rules under the supervision of a licensed nurse or under delegation by a Registered Nurse.
  • Employment as a CMA counts toward CNA renewal. However, work as a CNA does not count toward CMA renewal.
Special Requirements
In addition, CMAs must complete eight hours of medication-related continuing education during the two years immediately preceding the certificate expiration date. 
Complete all Oregon Required MNA CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, Oregon  97224-7012

Oregon Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)

Oregon Requires
45 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Oregon requires
45 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Tuesday, January 30, 2024

Prescriptive authority is required for all Nurse Practitioners. ARNPs with Prescriptive Authority are required to attest to meeting the following practice and continuing education requirements for renewal:

  • Practice: 
         Completion of at least 150 hours of practice utilizing current prescriptive authority. Hours must be within the last two years from the date of license expiration.  If the licensee is NOT able to meet the practice requirement, they must show proof of completion of an OSBN-approved APRN-level 45-hour pharmacology course completed within the past two years. The licensee is required to submit a copy of certificate(s) of completion for the pharmacology continuing education (CE) with their renewal application in order to satisfy the requirement. 
  • CE:
         APRN who actively maintains unencumbered national certification for the type of Oregon license they are renewing (NP, SNS, or CRNA), will meet the CE renewal requirements. If the APRN does not hold active unencumbered national certification, they must attest to completion of at least 45 structured contact hours of CEs, with 15 of those hours focused in APRN-level pharmacotherapeutic content.
Special Requirements
Oregon law requires all licensed nurses and other health professionals to receive one hour of pain management continuing education upon initial licensure and at every renewal thereafter.  This one (1) hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module. 

All healthcare providers are mandated to complete two (2) hours of cultural competence.

The remaining hours can be of your choice, from CE courses that are accredited by an established accrediting body (such as another state board of nursing or national organization) for continuing nursing education.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required ARNP CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, Oregon  97224-7012

Oregon Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)

2 Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
(2 + 1) Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, February 2, 2024

CNS must attest to completion of at least 40 contact hours of CEs in the two years prior to license expiration.  50% of those are must be completed in a structured activity; valid CNS national certification may be used in lieu of completion of the 50% structured hours. 

ARNPs with Prescriptive Authority are required to attest to meeting the following practice and continuing education requirements for renewal:

  • Practice:
    Completion of at least 150 hours of practice utilizing current prescriptive authority. Hours must be within the last two years from the date of license expiration.  If the licensee is NOT able to meet the practice requirement, they must show proof of completion of an OSBN-approved APRN-level 45-hour pharmacology course completed within the past two years. The licensee is required to submit a copy of certificate(s) of completion for the pharmacology continuing education (CE) with their renewal application in order to satisfy the requirement. 
  • CE:
    PRN who actively maintains unencumbered nation certification for the type of Oregon license they are renewing (NP, SNS, or CRNA), will meet the CE renewal requirements.  If the APRN does not hold active unencumbered national certification, they must attest to completion of at least 45 structured contact hours of CEs, with 15 of those hours focused in APRN-level pharmacotherapeutic content.
Special Requirements
Oregon law requires all licensed nurses and other health professionals to receive one hour of pain management continuing education upon initial licensure and at every renewal thereafter.  This one (1) hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module. 

All healthcare providers are mandated to complete two (2) hours of cultural competence.

The remaining hours can be of your choice, from CE courses that are accredited by an established accrediting body (such as another state board of nursing or national organization) for continuing nursing education.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required CNS CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, Oregon  97224-7012

Oregon Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

2 Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
(2 + 1) Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, February 2, 2024

Renewal is dependent on meeting one of three of the following requirements:

  1. Practice nursing for a minimum of 960 hours during the previous five years.
  2. Successfully complete an approved re-entry program within the two years preceding renewal.
  3. Graduate from an OSBN-approved nursing program within the past five years.
Special Requirements
Oregon law requires all licensed nurses and other health professionals to receive one hour of pain management continuing education upon initial licensure and at every renewal thereafter.  This one (1) hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module. 

All healthcare providers are mandated to complete two (2) hours of cultural competence.

The remaining hours can be of your choice, from CE courses that are accredited by an established accrediting body (such as another state board of nursing or national organization) for continuing nursing education.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required CRNA CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, Oregon  97224-7012

Oregon Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

2 Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
(2 + 1) Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Friday, February 2, 2024

1. LPN license renewal is dependent on meeting one of the following requirements:

(a) 400 hours of nursing practice, at the level of license sought, within the two years immediately preceding renewal application. Applicants initially licensed prior to January 1, 2021, must attest to having 400 hours of practice in the previous two years by their second renewal cycle after implementation of these rules. Prior to this second renewal, the applicant may use the previously required competency hours of 960 in 5 years; or

(b) Graduation from the Board-approved Oregon, or out of state school of nursing, or international nursing program that qualified the licensee for this type of license within the two years immediately preceding renewal application; or

(c) Completing a re-entry program meeting the requirements of OAR 851-021-0080; or OAR 851-031-0065 within the two years immediately preceding application for licensure renewal.

2. Applicants who cannot attest to 400 hours of practice in the past two years preceding application for renewal must:
(a) Have at least 600 hours of practice in the last three years. The applicant must submit documentation of 20 hours of continuing education related to their area of nursing practice; employer - required continuing education does not qualify; or

(b) Have at least 800 hours of practice in the last four years. The applicant must submit documentation of 30 hours of continuing education related to their area of practice; employer- required continuing education does not qualify.

(c) If the applicant is unable to qualify by any other option listed and has some practice but less than 960 hours of practice in the last five years, the applicant must apply for practice re-entry per OAR 851-031-0061.
Special Requirements
Oregon law requires all licensed nurses and other health professionals to receive one hour of pain management continuing education upon initial licensure and at every renewal thereafter.  This one (1) hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module. 

All healthcare providers are mandated to complete two (2) hours of cultural competence.

The remaining hours can be of your choice, from CE courses that are accredited by an established accrediting body (such as another state board of nursing or national organization) for continuing nursing education.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required LPN CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, Oregon  97224-7012

Oregon Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)

ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Friday, February 2, 2024
CEs not required.
Worked at least 400 hours in the last two years in any U.S. state or jurisdiction with active CNA certification, in a paid position doing CNA authorized duties with supervision of an RN or LPN or monitoring by an RN. Hours worked as a CNA 2 or CMA within the last two years may be used as part or all of the required 400 hours of paid employment. If it has been less than two years from completion of training program, this requirement is waived.

No continuing education is required for renewal. Please check with your facility/employer to ensure CEUFast courses are accepted. 
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Phone: 971-673-0685 Fax: 971-673-0684 Website: Visit Site Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.
Portland, Oregon  97224-7012

Oregon Physical Therapist (PT)

Last Updated: Thursday, March 28, 2024
Physical Therapists must earn 24 hours of continuing competency (CC) biennially. 

 **CEUFast courses are approved by the Florida Board of Physical Therapy Association.  Your state authorizes courses approved by another state board.
Special Requirements
Pain Management and Cultural Competence are required courses. 
Required Courses
Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board
Phone: 971-673-0200 Fax: 971-673-0226 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 407
Portland  97232-2187

Oregon Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)

Last Updated: Thursday, March 28, 2024
Physical Therapy Assistants must earn 24 hours of continuing competency (CC) biennially.  

**CEUFast courses are approved by the Florida Board of Physical Therapy Association.  Your state authorizes courses approved by another state board.
Special Requirements
Pain Management and Cultural Competence are required courses. 
Required Courses
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Oregon Pain Management Commission's Pain Management Module
Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board
Phone: 971-673-0200 Fax: 971-673-0226 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 407
Portland  97232-2187

Oregon Occupational Therapist (OT)

Oregon Requires
30 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Oregon requires
30 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Thursday, March 28, 2024
Occupational Therapist shall renew their license every two years on May 31st of even years.

CE REquirements for Current Licensees:
(1) All current licensees shall obtain a minimum of 30 points of CE from Board approved categories during the two years immediately preceding the date of the license renewal; or
(2) The Board recognizes the maintenances of continuous professional development hours as evidenced by current NBCOT Certification (National Board of Certification in Occupational Therapy) as fulfilling the requirements for CE under (1).
Special Requirements
Cultural Competency:
Effective July 1, 2020, ALL licensed Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants are required to complete at least one hour on Cultural Competency per renewal period. This requirement is in compliance with HB 2011 (2019).  

Pain Management:
Beginning in 2022, all applicants for license renewal must complete the Oregon Pain Management Commission's pain management course during each license cycle.
Beginning in 2024, as part of the renewal process, all applicants for renewal must demonstrate completion of the Oregon Pain Management Commission's pain management course in a format prescribed by the Board during every license renewal.
This required CE on pain management may also be used towards satisfying the Occupational Therapy CE requirement under OAR 339-020-0010.

Credit for CE shall be calculated on a point basis in the following categories and must relate to occupational therapy services. It is the responsibility of the licensee to demonstrate how specific classes contribute to the development of the occupational therapy skills. "Application to OT Services" (CE Log) must be included for credit. Unless stated otherwise, one point equals one contact hour. Sixteen to 30 required CE points must come from categories 1-11. A limit of 14 of the required CE points may be accrued from categories 12-18.

CE Categories and Points can be found here

In Oregon, there is a one-time mandatory 7 hours of CE on Pain Management for new Occupational Therapists due within 2 years of licensure.  This includes a mandatory 1-hour free pain management module here, plus 6 additional hours on pain.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required OT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Occupational Therapy Licensing Baord
Phone: 971-673-0198 Fax: 971-673-0226 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 800 NE Oregon St.
Suite 407
Portland  97232

Oregon Occupational Therapist Assistant (OTA)

Oregon Requires
30 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Oregon requires
30 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Thursday, March 28, 2024
Occupational Therapist shall renew their license every two years on May 31st of even years.

CE REquirements for Current Licensees:
(1) All current licensees shall obtain a minimum of 30 points of CE from Board approved categories during the two years immediately preceding the date of the license renewal; or
(2) The Board recognizes the maintenances of continuous professional development hours as evidenced by current NBCOT Certification (National Board of Certification in Occupational Therapy) as fulfilling the requirements for CE under (1).
Special Requirements
Cultural Competency:
Effective July 1, 2020, ALL licensed Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants are required to complete at least one hour on Cultural Competency per renewal period. This requirement is in compliance with HB 2011 (2019).  

Pain Management:
Beginning in 2022, all applicants for license renewal must complete the Oregon Pain Management Commission's pain management course during each license cycle.
Beginning in 2024, as part of the renewal process, all applicants for renewal must demonstrate completion of the Oregon Pain Management Commission's pain management course in a format prescribed by the Board during every license renewal.
This required CE on pain management may also be used towards satisfying the Occupational Therapy CE requirement under OAR 339-020-0010.

Credit for CE shall be calculated on a point basis in the following categories and must relate to occupational therapy services. It is the responsibility of the licensee to demonstrate how specific classes contribute to the development of the occupational therapy skills. "Application to OT Services" (CE Log) must be included for credit. Unless stated otherwise, one point equals one contact hour. Sixteen to 30 required CE points must come from categories 1-11. A limit of 14 of the required CE points may be accrued from categories 12-18.

CE Categories and Points can be found here

In Oregon, there is a one-time mandatory 7 hours of CE on Pain Management for new Occupational Therapists due within 2 years of licensure.  This includes a mandatory 1-hour free pain management module here, plus 6 additional hours on pain.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required OTA CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Occupational Therapy Licensing Baord
Phone: 971-673-0198 Fax: 971-673-0226 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 800 NE Oregon St.
Suite 407
Portland  97232

Oregon Athletic Trainer (AT/AL)

Oregon Requires
10 Hours
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Oregon requires
10 hours
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Thursday, March 28, 2024
To maintain registration, athletic trainers must complete a minimum of 10 hours of approved continuing education each year. 

Licensees must complete two hours of continuing education, specifically on concussion and traumatic brain injury, once every three years.
Required Courses
Complete all Oregon Required AT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Oregon Health Licensing Office Board of Athletic Trainers
Phone: 503-378-8667 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1430 Tandem Ave NE Suite 180
Salem  97301

Oregon Respiratory Therapist (RT)

Oregon Requires
7 Hours
Every year
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Oregon requires
7 hours Every year
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Tuesday, January 30, 2024
To maintain licensure, a respiratory therapist must complete a minimum of seven (7) continuing education (CE) hours every licensure year.
Special Requirements
Documentation supporting compliance with CE requirements must be maintained by the licensee for a period of two (2) years following license renewal and be provided to the Health Licensing Office upon request.
Complete all Oregon Required RT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
The Health Licensing Office
Phone: 503-373-1989 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180
Salem  97301

Oregon Medical Assistant (MA)

ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Wednesday, November 15, 2023
CEs not required.
Oregon has no medical assistant license or certification requirements. Medical assistants are unregulated personnel and work in outpatient settings under the direction of the physician.
Oregon State Board of Nursing
Address: 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd
Portland  97224