Sign Up
Nevada

Nevada Continuing Education Requirements

Select your profession.

Below are details about continuing education and license renewal in Nevada. You can skip to your profession by selecting it from the drop down list above.

Nevada Registered Nurse (RN)

Nevada Requires
30 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
30 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Thursday, February 1, 2024
RNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every two years. A one-time 4-hour bioterrorism course and
4 hours of cultural competency every renewal is required. 
Special Requirements
IMPORTANT UPDATE: During the 82nd legislative session (February-June 2023), the legislature enacted AB 267 which changes the requirements relating to the training in cultural competency. As you know, in 2021, the legislature enacted a mandatory requirement of 2 continuing education hours (CEUs) in cultural competency. AB 267 NOW REQUIRES THAT NURSES COMPLETE 4 HOURS OF CULTURAL COMPETENCY INSTEAD OF 2 HOURS EACH RENEWAL CYCLE.
What does this mean for you:
As of January 1, 2024, when completing your license renewal, you will be asked if you have completed 4 hours of continuing education in cultural competency (NRS 632.343). The 4 hours of continuing education is part of the mandatory 30 hours already required by law (NRS 632.343).
You must complete 4 hours of cultural competency continuing education each renewal cycle and those hours may be made up of as many Nevada Board of Nursing (NSBN) approved courses as you want so long as you meet the minimum of the 4-hour requirement.
Should you be selected for a random audit, you will need to show proof of completion of all your continuing education.
Should you be employed by a facility that has provided you with the cultural competency training required by NRS 449.103, and approved by the Nevada Board of Nursing, this training will count towards your cultural competency continuing education requirement.
ANOTHER IMPORTANT UPDATE: Pursuant to SB 439, beginning January 1, 2024 licensees who provide or supervise emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care will be required to take at least 2 hours of continuing education in the stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at a high risk of acquiring human immunodeficiency virus to be completed within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise the provision of such services or care.
Required Courses
Complete all Nevada Required RN CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing
Phone: 888-590-6726 Fax: 702-486-5803 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 4220 S. Maryland Pkwy., Building B, Suite 300
Las Vegas, NV  89119-7533

Nevada Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)

Nevada Requires
30 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
30 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Monday, January 29, 2024

45 hours of continuing education, 15 CEs directly related to their specialties

Special Requirements
2 hour suicide prevention course completed every 4 years,
If you have prescriptive authority, 2 hour substance use and abuse course completed every renewal cycle
Required Courses
Complete all Nevada Required ARNP CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing
Phone: 888-590-6726 Fax: 702-486-5803 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 4220 S. Maryland Pkwy., Building B, Suite 300
Las Vegas  89119-7533

Nevada Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

Nevada Requires
30 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
30 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Thursday, February 1, 2024

LPNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every two years. A one-time 4-hour bioterrorism course and
4 hours of cultural competency every renewal is required. 

Special Requirements
IMPORTANT UPDATE: During the 82nd legislative session (February-June 2023), the legislature enacted AB 267 which changes the requirements relating to the training in cultural competency. As you know, in 2021, the legislature enacted a mandatory requirement of 2 continuing education hours (CEUs) in cultural competency. AB 267 NOW REQUIRES THAT NURSES COMPLETE 4 HOURS OF CULTURAL COMPETENCY INSTEAD OF 2 HOURS EACH RENEWAL CYCLE.
What does this mean for you:
As of January 1, 2024, when completing your license renewal, you will be asked if you have completed 4 hours of continuing education in cultural competency (NRS 632.343). The 4 hours of continuing education is part of the mandatory 30 hours already required by law (NRS 632.343).
You must complete 4 hours of cultural competency continuing education each renewal cycle and those hours may be made up of as many Nevada Board of Nursing (NSBN) approved courses as you want so long as you meet the minimum of the 4-hour requirement.
Should you be selected for a random audit, you will need to show proof of completion of all your continuing education.
Should you be employed by a facility that has provided you with the cultural competency training required by NRS 449.103, and approved by the Nevada Board of Nursing, this training will count towards your cultural competency continuing education requirement.
ANOTHER IMPORTANT UPDATE: Pursuant to SB 439, beginning January 1, 2024 licensees who provide or supervise emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care will be required to take at least 2 hours of continuing education in the stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at a high risk of acquiring human immunodeficiency virus to be completed within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise the provision of such services or care.
Required Courses
Complete all Nevada Required LPN CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing
Phone: 888-590-6726 Fax: 702-486-5803 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 4220 S. Maryland Pkwy., Building B, Suite 300
Las Vegas  89119-7533

Nevada Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

Nevada Requires
45 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
45 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Wednesday, August 2, 2023
45 contact hours. 15 of these hours must be in pharmacology.
Complete all Nevada Required CRNA CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing
Phone: 888-590-6726 Fax: 702-486-5803 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 4220 S. Maryland Pkwy., Building B, Suite 300
Las Vegas  89119-7533

Nevada Physical Therapist (PT)

Last Updated: Sunday, March 31, 2024

Each licensed physical therapist and physical therapist assistant is required to complete 15 hours of continuing competency within the year immediately preceding his or her application for renewal of a license. 

**CEUFast, Inc. is an approved provider of the Nevada State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

NV State Bd of Physical Therapy Examiners
Phone: 702-876-5535 Fax: 702-876-2097 Website: Visit Site Address: 7570 Norman Rockwell Lane Suite 230
Las Vegas  89129

Nevada Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)

Last Updated: Sunday, March 31, 2024

Each licensed physical therapist and physical therapist assistant is required to complete 15 hours of continuing competency within the year immediately preceding his or her application for renewal of a license. 

**CEUFast, Inc. is an approved provider of the Nevada State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

NV State Bd of Physical Therapy Examiners
Phone: 702-876-5535 Fax: 702-876-2097 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 7570 Norman Rockwell Lane Suite 230
Las Vegas  89129

Nevada Occupational Therapist (OT)

Nevada Requires
24 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
24 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Thursday, October 12, 2023
Occupational Therapist license shall expire 2 years from the date of assurance.  A minimum of 24 contact hours of continuing education is required per biennial renewal cycle. Documentation is required to renew or reinstate a license.
Complete all Nevada Required OT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada Board of Occupational Therapists
Phone: 775-746-4101 Fax: 775-746-4105 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 6160 Mae Anne Ave
Reno  89523

Nevada Occupational Therapist Assistant (OTA)

Nevada Requires
24 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
24 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Thursday, October 12, 2023
Occupational Therapist license shall expire 2 years from the date of assurance.  A minimum of 24 contact hours of continuing education is required per biennial renewal cycle. Documentation is required to renew or reinstate a license.
Complete all Nevada Required OTA CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada Board of Occupational Therapists
Phone: 775-746-4101 Fax: 775-746-4105 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 6160 Mae Anne Ave
Reno  89523

Nevada Athletic Trainer (AT/AL)

Nevada Requires
50 Hours
Every year
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
50 hours Every year
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, March 29, 2024
All licenses to practice athletic training expire on June 30 each year.  The requirements for continuing education  must be at least equivalent to the requirements for continuing education for the renewal of a certificate of an athletic trainer issued by the National Athletic Trainers Association Board of Certification,

BOC requires Athletic Trainers to complete 50 CEUs within the 2-year reporting period.
Complete all Nevada Required AT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Athletic Trainers
Phone: 775-787-2636 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 6170 Mae Anne Avenue Suite 1
Reno  89523

Nevada Athletic Trainer (AT/AL)

ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Tuesday, August 8, 2023
CEs not required.
All licenses to practice athletic training expire on June 30 each year.

Athletic Trainers are required to maintain BOC certification to renew their license. 
Nevada State Board of Athletic Trainers
Phone: 775-787-2636 Fax: 775-403-1970 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 6170 Mae Anne Avenue Suite 1
Reno  89523

Nevada Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)

Nevada Requires
24 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
24 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, January 19, 2024
You must have completed 24 continuing education (CE) hours and have practiced at least 40 hours as a CNA within the previous two years.

The Nevada Nurse Practice Act requires all renewing CNAs to complete 24 hours of CNA-related continuing training within the certificate renewal period. CNAs must also have practiced as a CNA under the direction of a licensed nurse for a minimum of 40 hours per renewal cycle. While the legislature didn’t mandate the bioterrorism course for CNAs, the Board highly encourages them to take it as part of their 24-hour continuing education/training renewal requirement.
Complete all Nevada Required CNA CEs
$20
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing
Phone: 888-590-6726 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 5011 Meadowood Mall Way #300
Reno  89502

Nevada Respiratory Therapist (RT)

Nevada Requires
20 Hours
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
20 hours
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Monday, January 1, 2024
License must be renewed by Jun 30, of each odd-numbered year20 hours of continuing education is required to renew your licenses biennially.  12 hours must be directly related to respiratory care and 2 hours must be in the subject matter of ethics. 
Required Courses
Complete all Nevada Required RT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners
Phone: 775-688-2559 Fax: 775-688-2321 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 9600 Gateway Drive
Reno  89521

Nevada Certified Medication Assistant (CMA)

Nevada Requires
24 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
24 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, January 19, 2024
You must have completed 24 continuing education (CE) hours and have practiced at least 40 hours as a CNA within the previous two years.

The Nevada Nurse Practice Act requires all renewing CNAs to complete 24 hours of CNA-related continuing training within the certificate renewal period. CNAs must also have practiced as a CNA under the direction of a licensed nurse for a minimum of 40 hours per renewal cycle. While the legislature didn’t mandate the bioterrorism course for CNAs, the Board highly encourages them to take it as part of their 24-hour continuing education/training renewal requirement.
Complete all Nevada Required CMA CEs
$20
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing (Reno Office)
Phone: 888-590-6726 Fax: 775-687-7707 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 6005 Plumas St., Suite 100
Reno  89519

Nevada Certified Medication Assistant (CMA)

Nevada Requires
24 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Nevada requires
24 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
CEUfast Meets All Requirements
Last Updated: Friday, January 19, 2024
Twenty-four hours of continuing education within the CNA scope of practice; and
200 hours of employment as a medication aide
Complete all Nevada Required CMA CEs
$20
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Nevada State Board of Nursing
Phone: 888-590-6726 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact

Nevada Medical Assistant (MA)

ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Wednesday, November 15, 2023
CEs not required.
Medical assistants are not required to register, have certification, or be licensed in the state of Nevada. State law does specify that it is up to the employer to ensure and document that the medical assistant is trained and able to perform the tasks that they are given.