Sign Up
Texas

Texas Continuing Education Requirements

Select your profession.

Below are details about continuing education and license renewal in Texas. You can skip to your profession by selecting it from the drop down list above.

Texas is known for a lot of different things: Texas barbeque, Texas chili, Texas football, etc. But, one of the most important things that stands out from many other states, especially this past summer, is the horrendous heat that comes during the summer months. According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), temperatures have risen roughly 1 degree since the first half of the 20th century, and the unprecedented heat is projected to continue.

With these extreme summertime heat waves, it’s important as nursing professionals working in southern states, such as Texas, to recognize the signs and symptoms of heat-related illnesses. According to the U.S. Department of Labor, thousands of American become sick from heat-related illnesses, such as heat exhaustion or heat stroke, and in some cases become fatal.

During this warm season, it’s a good idea for nursing professionals to help spread the word about these heat-related illnesses and how to prevent them. In most cases, it can be prevented by staying hydrated, working in adequate clothing attire, taking frequent breaks, and being able to identify heat illness symptoms as they start to occur.

Although the saying goes something along the lines of “Don’t Mess with Texas”, adding the phrase “or the heat” to the end of it, might make the slogan a little more appropriate during the state’s most hot and humid days.

Texas Registered Nurse (RN)

Texas Requires
20 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Texas requires
20 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Thursday, May 9, 2024

For each licensure renewal, Board Rule 216.3 requires every nurse to:
complete 20 contact hours of continuing nursing education (CNE) in the nurse’s area of practice within the licensing period OR
demonstrate the achievement, maintenance, or renewal of a Board-approved national nursing certification in the nurse’s area of practice within the licensing period.

First renewal information: A nurse’s initial license is valid for a period of 6 to 29 months, depending on his/her birth month and year and when the initial license is issued.  Nurses are exempt from most continuing competency requirements for the first renewal following initial licensure as long as the initial renewal is timely.  The only exception is the Forensic Evidence Collection [Board Rule 216.3(d)] targeted continuing education requirement, if it applies based on the nurse’s practice.  After the initial licensing period, subsequent licensing periods will be 2 years in length.  And, following the initial renewal/very first renewal, nurses need 20 contact hours of Continuing Nursing Education (CNE) in their area of practice or a Board-approved national nursing certification in their area of practice to renew their license each 2-year licensing period.

Special Requirements
Nursing Jurisprudence and Nursing Ethics. All nurses must complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relating to nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics before the end of every third two-year licensing period (applicable to licensing periods that began on or after January 1, 2014). 

The CNE course(s) must contain information related to:
• the Texas Nursing Practice Act,
• the Board's rules (including §217.11, Standards of Nursing Practice),
• the Board's position statements,
• principles of nursing ethics, and
• professional boundaries.

Contact hours completed for this requirement do count towards completion of the 20 contact hours of CNE required for all nurses.

Certification may not be used to fulfill this requirement.

Older Adult or Geriatric Care. Any nurse whose practice includes the older adult or geriatric population is required to complete at least two contact hours in every licensing cycle. The content must include information relating to elder abuseage-related memory changes and disease processes, including chronic conditions, end-of-life issues, health maintenance, and health promotion. A nurse may choose to complete more than one course in order to cover all content required in the rule.

Forensic Evidence Collection. Any nurse who is employed in an emergency room (ER) setting, including any nurse who could float to an ER or have shifts scheduled in an ER, as well as any nurse employed under contractual, temporary, per diem, agency, traveling, or another employment relationship whose duties include working in an ER must complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relevant to forensic evidence collection and age- or population-specific nursing interventions that may be required by other laws and/or are necessary in order to assure evidence collection that meets requirements under the Government Code §420.031 regarding use of an Attorney General-approved evidence collection kit and protocol. This is a one-time requirement. (Maintain record of course completion indefinitely, even if you change employment.)

Human Trafficking Prevention. Any nurse who provides direct patient care must complete a human trafficking prevention course that is approved by the Executive Director of Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) that covers identifying and assisting victims of human trafficking before the end of every licensing period (applicable to licensure renewals on or after September 1, 2020). Our course, Human Trafficking, has been approved by Texas Health and Human Services in accordance with House Bill 2059 (2019).
Required Courses
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Forensic Evidence Collection
Complete all Texas Required RN CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Texas Board of Nursing
Phone: 512-305-7400 Fax: 512-305-7401 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 10-200
Austin, TX  78701-3944

Texas Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)

Texas Requires
28 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Texas requires
28 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Thursday, May 9, 2024

National certification or completion of 20 contact hours of CNE relevant to the nurse’s “area of practice.” “Area of practice” is defined as including any activity, assignment, or task performed by the nurse that utilizes nursing knowledge, judgement, or skills.

Special Requirements
Pharmacotherapeutics. Any APRN who holds prescriptive authority must complete at least 5 additional contact hours of continuing education in pharmacotherapeutics before the end of every licensing period.
These hours are in addition to the 20 contact hours required for all nurses. (APRNs with prescriptive authority who don't prescribe controlled substances need to complete a total of 25 contact hours of continuing education each licensing period.) Certification may not be used to fulfill this requirement. Category I CNE may be used to fulfill this requirement.

Prescription of Controlled Substances. Any APRN who holds prescriptive authority and prescribes controlled substances must complete at least 3 additional contact hours of continuing education related to prescribing controlled substances before the end of every licensing period. These hours are in addition to the 20 contact hours required for all nurses and the 5 contact hours in pharmacotherapeutics required for APRNs with prescriptive authority. (APRNs with prescriptive authority who prescribe controlled substances need to complete a total of 28 contact hours of continuing education each licensing period.) Certification may not be used to fulfill this requirement. Category I CNE may be used to fulfill this requirement.

Tick Borne Disease. Any APRN whose practice includes the treatment of tick-borne diseases is encouraged to participate in continuing education relating to the treatment of tick-borne diseases. The continuing education course(s) should contain information relevant to treatment of the disease within the APRN's role and population focus area of licensure and may represent a spectrum of relevant medical clinical treatment relating to tick-borne disease. Contact hours completed for this requirement do count towards completion of the 20 contact hours of CNE required for all nurses. Certification may not be used to fulfill this requirement. 

Nursing Jurisprudence and Nursing Ethics. All nurses must complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relating to nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics before the end of every third two-year licensing period 

Older Adult or Geriatric Care. Any nurse whose practice includes older adult or geriatric populations is required to complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relating to older adult or geriatric populations before the end of every licensing period

Forensic Evidence Collection. Any nurse who is employed in an emergency room (ER) setting, including any nurse who could float to an ER or have shifts scheduled in an ER, as well as any nurse employed under contractual, temporary, per diem, agency, traveling, or another employment relationship whose duties include working in an ER must complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relevant to forensic evidence collection and age- or population-specific nursing interventions that may be required by other laws and/or are necessary in order to assure evidence collection that meets requirements under the Government Code §420.031 regarding use of an Attorney General-approved evidence collection kit and protocol.  

Human Trafficking Prevention. Any nurse who provides direct patient care must complete a human trafficking prevention course that is approved by the Executive Director of Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) that covers identifying and assisting victims of human trafficking before the end of every licensing period (applicable to licensure renewals on or after September 1, 2020).
Required Courses
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Forensic Evidence Collection
Complete all Texas Required ARNP CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Texas Board of Nursing
Phone: 512-305-7400 Fax: 512-305-7401 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 10-200
Austin, TX  78701-3944

Texas Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVN)

Texas Requires
20 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Texas requires
20 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Thursday, May 9, 2024

For each licensure renewal, Board Rule 216.3 requires every nurse to:
complete 20 contact hours of continuing nursing education (CNE) in the nurse’s area of practice within the licensing period OR
demonstrate the achievement, maintenance, or renewal of a Board-approved national nursing certification in the nurse’s area of practice within the licensing period.

First renewal information: A nurse’s initial license is valid for a period of 6 to 29 months, depending on his/her birth month and year and when the initial license is issued.  Nurses are exempt from most continuing competency requirements for the first renewal following initial licensure as long as the initial renewal is timely.  The only exception is the Forensic Evidence Collection [Board Rule 216.3(d)] targeted continuing education requirement, if it applies based on the nurse’s practice.  After the initial licensing period, subsequent licensing periods will be 2 years in length.  And, following the initial renewal/very first renewal, nurses need 20 contact hours of Continuing Nursing Education (CNE) in their area of practice or a Board-approved national nursing certification in their area of practice to renew their license each 2-year licensing period.

Special Requirements
Nursing Jurisprudence and Nursing Ethics. All nurses must complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relating to nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics before the end of every third two-year licensing period (applicable to licensing periods that began on or after January 1, 2014). 

The CNE course(s) must contain information related to:
• the Texas Nursing Practice Act,
• the Board's rules (including §217.11, Standards of Nursing Practice),
• the Board's position statements,
• principles of nursing ethics, and
• professional boundaries.

Contact hours completed for this requirement do count towards completion of the 20 contact hours of CNE required for all nurses.

Certification may not be used to fulfill this requirement.

Older Adult or Geriatric Care. Any nurse whose practice includes the older adult or geriatric population is required to complete at least two contact hours in every licensing cycle. The content must include information relating to elder abuseage-related memory changes and disease processes, including chronic conditions, end-of-life issues, health maintenance, and health promotion. A nurse may choose to complete more than one course in order to cover all content required in the rule.

Forensic Evidence Collection. Any nurse who is employed in an emergency room (ER) setting, including any nurse who could float to an ER or have shifts scheduled in an ER, as well as any nurse employed under contractual, temporary, per diem, agency, traveling, or another employment relationship whose duties include working in an ER must complete at least 2 contact hours of CNE relevant to forensic evidence collection and age- or population-specific nursing interventions that may be required by other laws and/or are necessary in order to assure evidence collection that meets requirements under the Government Code §420.031 regarding use of an Attorney General-approved evidence collection kit and protocol. This is a one-time requirement. (Maintain record of course completion indefinitely, even if you change employment.)

Human Trafficking Prevention. Any nurse who provides direct patient care must complete a human trafficking prevention course that is approved by the Executive Director of Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) that covers identifying and assisting victims of human trafficking before the end of every licensing period (applicable to licensure renewals on or after September 1, 2020). Our course, Human Trafficking, has been approved by Texas Health and Human Services in accordance with House Bill 2059 (2019).
Required Courses
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Forensic Evidence Collection
Complete all Texas Required LVN CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Texas Board of Nursing
Phone: 512-305-7400 Fax: 512-305-7401 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 10-200
Austin, TX  78701-3944

Texas Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)

Texas Requires
24 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Texas requires
24 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Friday, January 19, 2024
Nurse aides renewing their certification are required to complete 24 hours of in-service education every 2 years. NAR Approved In-Service Education Programs (https://www.hhs.texas.gov/business/licensing-credentialing-regulation/long-term-care-credentialing/nurse-aide-registry/nar-approved-service-education-programs) has a list of approved programs. Nurse aides may complete 12 of the required 24 hours of in-service education in a healthcare entity other than a facility licensed or certified by HHS, the Texas Department of State Health Services or the Texas Board of Nursing.
Special Requirements
Effective September 1, 2013, in-service must include training in geriatrics and the care of patients with a dementia disorder, which includes, but is not limited to, Alzheimer's disease.

HHSC published Provider Letter 2023-14 Web-based Licensure System for Nurse Aides and Medication Aides (PDF). This PL announces that effective July 5, 2023, nurse aides, medication aides, NATCEPs, and providers will complete all licensing applications in TULIP, and provides important dates and information related to TULIP’s benefits and features, as well as instructions for making a successful transition to the TULIP Online Licensure Application System.
Complete all Texas Required CNA CEs
$20
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Texas Department of State Health Services
Phone: 512-424-6500 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 4601 W. Guadalupe St.
P.O. Box 13247
Austin  78711-3247

Texas Physical Therapist (PT)

Last Updated: Sunday, March 31, 2024
Licensees are required to renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month. For each biennial renewal, physical therapists must complete a total of 30 CCUs. 

** CEUFast courses are not approved by your board at this time
Special Requirements
All licensees must complete the Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) and an HHS-approved Human Trafficking Prevention Training course as part of their total continuing competence requirements.
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM)
  • Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module
Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Phone: 512-305-6900 Fax: 512-305-6951 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1801 Congress Ave Ste 10.900
Austin, TX  78701

Texas Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)

Last Updated: Sunday, March 31, 2024
Licensees must renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month. For each biennial renewal, physical therapist assistants must complete a total of 20 CCUs. 

**CEUFast courses are not approved by your board at this time
Special Requirements
All licensees must complete the Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) and an HHS-approved Human Trafficking Prevention Training course as part of their total continuing competence requirements.
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM)
  • Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module
Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Phone: 512-305-6900 Fax: 512-305-6951 Website: Visit Site Address: 1801 Congress Ave Ste 10.900
Austin, TX  78701

Texas Athletic Trainer (AT/AL)

Texas Requires
40 Hours
Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
Texas requires
40 hours Every two years
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Tuesday, February 6, 2024
An athletic training license is renewed biennially, at the end of the birth month of the licensee.   To renew an athletic trainer license, a licensee must complete the following:
  • 40 clock-hours of continuing education during the previous two-year period, including 2 clock-hours of training in concussion management
  • Current Emergency Cardiac Care certification from the Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers/Professional Rescuers at the Healthcare Provider level or beyond, which must be maintained throughout each two-year period
  • A human trafficking prevention training course, approved by the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), must be completed to renew your license.
Special Requirements
  • A human trafficking prevention training course, approved by the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), must be completed to renew your license.
CEUFast's Human Trafficking course has been approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) in accordance with House Bill 2059 (2019) for health care practitioner licensure renewal requirements.
Required Courses
Required Courses Not Provided by CEUfast
  • Concussion Management
Complete all Texas Required AT CEs
$39
  • Unlimited Certificates (1 Year)
  • Instant access to certificates
  • and much more ...
Start Today
Advisory Board of Athletic Trainers
Phone: 512-463-6599 Fax: 512-463-9468 Website: Visit Site Address: PO Box 12157
Austin, TX  78711

Texas Respiratory Therapist (RT)

Last Updated: Monday, January 1, 2024
Respiratory care practitioners need to complete at least 24 credits/hours of continuing education (CE) every 24 months. At least 12 contact hours must be in traditional courses. A certificate holder must report during registration if she or he has completed the required CE during the previous two years (biennial registration period).

*CEUFast is unable to provide CEs at this time
Some Courses Provided
Human Trafficking: Approved by Texas Health and Human Services in accordance with House Bill 2059 (2019).
Special Requirements
24 total hours acceptable CE required per biennium (2 year registration period)
  • At least 12 contact hours must be in traditional courses. The remainder of contact hours may be in non-traditional courses or from passage of examinations detailed below under “Acceptable Continuing Education”
  • At least 2 contact hours must be in ethics. These ethics hours may be completed via traditional courses or non-traditional courses.
  • Those who hold temporary permits are not subject to these continuing education requirements.
  • A retired respiratory care practitioner on the voluntary charity care status only required to complete reduced CE requirements equal to half of the number of CE hours required for renewal for a certified respiratory care practitioner.
  • One CE or contact hour activity is defined as 60 minutes attendance and participation in an acceptable continuing education experience.
  • No CE hours may be carried over from one renewal period to another renewal period.
  • A practitioner who also holds a current license, registration, or certification in another health care profession or a current license, registration, or certification as a respiratory care practitioner in another state, territory, or country may satisfy the CE requirements for renewal in Texas with hours counted toward renewal of another license, registration, or certification as long as the hours meet all current requirements.
Texas Medical Board
Phone: 800-248-4062 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: P.O. Box 2018
Austin, TX  78768-2018

Texas Occupational Therapist (OT)

Last Updated: Wednesday, August 16, 2023
Effective 9/1/2019, at least 24 contact hours of CE are required for license renewal. Licensees are required to renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month.  All licensees must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every two years during the period of time the license is current in order to renew the license and must provide this information as requested.
Special Requirements
Effective 9/1/2020, all renewals must include an HHSC-Approved Training Course on the Prevention of Human Trafficking.
Required Courses
Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Phone: 512-305-6900 Fax: 512-305-6951 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1801 Congress Ave Ste 10.900
Austin  78701

Texas Occupational Therapist Assistant (OTA)

Last Updated: Wednesday, August 16, 2023
Effective 9/1/2019, at least 24 contact hours of CE are required for license renewal. Licensees are required to renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month.  All licensees must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every two years during the period of time the license is current in order to renew the license and must provide this information as requested.
Special Requirements
Effective 9/1/2020, all renewals must include an HHSC-Approved Training Course on the Prevention of Human Trafficking.
Required Courses
Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Phone: 512-305-6900 Fax: 512-305-6951 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact Address: 1801 Congress Ave Ste 10.900
Austin  78701

Texas Home Health Aid (HHA)

5 Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
(5 + 1) Required Courses
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Wednesday, August 16, 2023
CEs not required.
Required Courses
Texas Department of State Health Services
Phone: 512-424-6500 Website: Visit Site Email: Contact

Texas Medical Assistant (MA)

ANCC
Approved Provider
#P0274
ANCC
Approved Provider #P0274
Last Updated: Wednesday, November 15, 2023
CEs not required.
While medical assistants are not required to be licensed or certified by the State of Texas, many employers require or prefer certification from a national or private association.