(Lake City, Fla.) Respiratory therapists practicing in Florida are no longer restricted in the number of contact hours they’re allowed to complete online.
Previously, RTs were only permitted to take 12 of their 24 required contact hours through self study methods.
That limitation was overturned as of August 3, so while live courses are still available, they’re no longer mandatory.
For more details on this change, visit Florida's Board of Respiratory Care.
CE hours for Florida Respiratory Therapists are due May 31 of each odd year.
In addition to 20 hours of general CE, they are required to complete the following courses at each removal:
- 2 CE hours of Florida laws and rules
- 2 CE hours of board approved course related to preventing medical errors
For first time renewals, RTs must complete 3 hours of HIV/AIDs CE. After the initial renewal, the course is then optional for subsequent renewals, but more more than 5 hours can be completed in this area.
You can complete all of your courses through CEUfast, a board approved provider.
You’re welcome to review RTs by selecting that profession at the top of our courses page.
To receive your certification, subscribe to CEUfast for $34. Your subscription covers unlimited CEs for an entire year.