Last Updated February 13, 2018
The Delaware Board of Nursing requires LPNs to renew their license by February 28 of even-numbered years. To renew, licensees must attest that they have practiced nursing at least 1,000 hours in the past five years or 400 hours in the past two years.
During the two years under license, LPNs must fulfill continuing education requirements, including at least three contact hours in the area of substance abuse. Licensees are not required to send CE reporting forms unless they receive an audit notice. After completing all continuing education requirements, licensees pay the renewal fee of $141 on the Delaware Board of Nursing website while completing the renewal application.
All LPNs will be required to complete continuing education/competency requirements as a condition of licensure renewal. Delaware LPNs are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education each biennium, which is a two year period of licensure. An LPN who has endorsed into Delaware during a biennium or whose license was reactivated or reinstated during a biennium must earn a total of 12 contact hours if more than a full calendar year remains in the biennium.
|If your license was issued by this method:||and you’ve had your Delaware license…||then you will need this number of hours:|
|examination||less than two years||0 – you don’t need any CE for the first renewal only|
|two or more years||RN – 30|
LPN – 24
|endorsement or reinstatement||less than one year||0 – you don’t need any CE for the first renewal only|
|at least one year but less than two years||RN – 15|
LPN – 12
|two or more years||RN – 30|
LPN – 24
Information provided by the Delaware Board of Nursing website
Delaware law requires at least three of the required contact hours to be related to substance abuse. The specific topic may be one of your choosing. Examples include:
The Delaware Board of Nursing requires continuing education credits to be completed through an “approved provider.” An approved provider is an entity that meets one of the following requirements:
For more information about Delaware’s continuing education requirements, visit Section 9.0 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations. Do you still have questions? Visit the Board’s FAQ page here.
For only $39 per year, you can gain unlimited access to more than 100 courses that CEUfast has to offer. You can access unlimited contact hours anytime, anywhere on our mobile-friendly website. CEUfast also electronically reports to CE Broker, taking one more step out of the license renewal process. When you sign up for an account, CEUfast will send you convenient reminders about upcoming renewal deadlines so you never forget to renew your license.Start Today
Step 1. Complete all continuing education requirements.
Step 2. Enter your user ID and password to log into the online renewal system.
NOTE: If you do not already have a renewal ID, you may request one on this page.
Step 3. Once you have logged into the renewal website, you will need to verify and update your license information.
Step 4. Read and answer the renewal questions carefully. You must also certify that you have completed or will complete all renewal requirements, including CE hours.
Step 5. Pay the renewal fee of $141.
Step 6. Once you complete the renewal process, you will be given a Certificate of License Renewal. Print this out and use it as a receipt for your records.
If you do not renew your LPN license by the end of the two-month period, your license will terminate. To resume practicing after termination, you will have to apply to reinstate your license.
NOTE: Always keep a copy of all documentation that you submit to the Delaware Board of Nursing.
For more information on renewing your LPN license visit the Delaware Board of Nursing license renewal information.